EHEDG Committees

Organer & Komitéer

De væsentligste organer I EHEDG er Fondsbestyrelsen (Foundation Board), Rådgivningsrådet (Advisory Board), Generalforsamlingen (General Assembly) og Eksekutivkomitéen (Executive Committee).


The Foundation Board comprises at least three members, who are elected by the General Assembly for a term of maximum three (3) years and who are eligible for re-election for a maximum of two (2) terms. The members are the President who formally represents the EHEDG, the Vice-President, the Secretary and the Treasurer, while one person can simultaneously fulfil the latter two positions.

The Foundation Board is charged with the management of the Foundation as well as with the implementation of its decisions and its members represent EHEDG in and out of court.

Foundation Board as of 01/2018:

EHEDG President
Ludvig Josefsberg

EHEDG Vice-President
Dr. Patrick Wouters

EHEDG Treasurer
& Secretary

Piet Steenaard


The Advisory Board consists of the President and EHEDG company member representatives, preferably two from food producers, two from equipment manufacturers, two from service suppliers and engineering companies, in total seven (7) Board members.

Members of the Advisory Board are elected by the General Assembly for a term of three years and can be re-elected for one more term in a row. The Advisory Board advises on:

  • mission, vision and strategy
  • yearly program and budget
  • appointment of the Executive Committee.

The Advisory Board meets at least once a year. The President provides the Advisory Board with relevant information for review.

Advisory Board members as of 01/2018:

Matilda Freund
Mondelez, Switzerland

Hugo Piguet
Nestlé, Switzerland

Holger Schmidt
ABB, Germany

Ulf Thiessen
GEA Tuchenhagen, Germany

Hein Timmerman
Diversey, Belgium

Paul Wirtz
Tetra Pak, Sweden


The General Assembly consists of all company and institutional members of EHEDG excluding the individual members.

The only role of the General Assembly is to elect the President, the Vice President, the Secretary, the Treasurer and the members of the Advisory Board. Elections by the General Assembly will take place every three (3) years.


The Executive Committee consists of the members of the Foundation Board, together with the Chairs and Co-Chairs of the Sub-Committees. The Sub-Committee Chairs and Co-Chairs are appointed by the Foundation Board upon proposal of the President for a term of three (3) years, and can be reappointed for up to two times. EHEDG forms Regional Sections and Working Groups that are governed by the Sub-Committee leaders.

from left to right:
Piet Steenaard, Huub Lelieveld, Peter Golz, Ludvig Josefsberg, Tracy Schonrock, Knuth Lorenzen, Patrick Wouters, Andrés Pascual
Missing: Michael Evers, Karl-Heinz Bahr

EHEDG Executive Committee Members (PDF).

Any EHEDG member can nominate candidates to the Executive Committee. The role of the Executive Committee is to:

  • develop a strategy for EHEDG with annual budget, fees and plans
  • secure approval by the Foundation Board
  • drive implementation of the plans
  • approve and support Sub-Committee programs
  • manage daily operational matters through the EHEDG Secretariat
  • organize elections
  • communicate important decisions, progress and accomplishments to the members.

The President and the Vice-President, together with the Treasurer, supported by the EHEDG Secretariat, act on behalf of the Executive Committee on the operational management of the organisation.

For details please see the EHEDG Statutes, Internal Rules and Code of Conduct (PDF) and the Organisational Chart.